October 27 – Con todo mi corazón, alma, mente y fuerza

28 Oct

Whoa. I truly have mixed feelings writing this. Part of me doesn’t want to write it and part of me wants to make it the most paramount email of my life haha. But I think I’ll just speak from the heart and hope that the Spirit will touch you in the way that you might need.

Thank you so much for each of you who emailed me today. Those words were inspired and touched me. Thank you for being my number one fans 🙂 I love you!

This week has flown by and brought so many miracles! R is doing amazing. Perhaps not in situation but her spirit and testimony is growing! T is still in the hospital but they hope he will be able to come home for a little bit before having to go back for another treatment. This family has a huge part of my heart 🙂 Every time we go see R and T (T is in isolation and we can only speak to him via phone but R comes out and sits with us) it’s pretty hard because T is so fragile. But at the same time it is so inspiring. R understands the gospel. She talks to us and it’s amazing to hear her testimony- about how she knows that Heavenly Father has T here for a purpose (that he’s truly in His hands) or that she has stopped smoking and drinking coffee because she just no longer has the desire (we threw out her cigarettes with her!) because she sees a bigger picture of God’s plan for us. She even has said that without this experience she probably wouldn’t be as close to Christ as she is now.

We also had a really cool lesson yesterday with a part member family. The daughter (19ish) has been a member for pretty much her whole life and the other daughter (7) also comes to church because their aunt has brought them. The Mom, I, is not a member. But we know that she has had a good experience with the Book of Mormon and says that one day she sees herself joining. Missionaries have gone a long time ago but nothing since. So we’ve have been working with them. They are an awesome family! I love the love they have for each other and you can really feel the spirit every time we go. Yesterday they had us over for dinner (awesome food from Guyana!). We showed a mormon message about the restoration of the church. It was where a bunch of youth share their feelings about the restoration on their visit to Palmyra. It was really neat as we all talked about what we felt about the blessings of the restoration of the gospel of Jesus Christ. You could feel the Spirit. And after a bit I was like, “I would like to go there to where it happened. Maybe we could go next summer as a family”. Her daughter was like, “Yeah! Let’s go!”. You can see how happy it makes her daughter as her Mother feels the spirit. She’s coming closer and closer to Christ!

Also, you should probably know. I said I’d ask my parents if we might be able to join! Hahaha I know that you’ve always wanted to go Mom. Porque no right?

Anyways, I have so many other stories!!! And I have like no time. But one more. We went to visit a sister who just had surgery on her hand. She has been pretty bored so they asked us to visit her. She’s pretty awesome. So we were there and joking around in the beginning and getting to know her more. And then bam! We found out that she hasn’t been to the temple for endowments. In fact she knew a little about it but really not and her reasons for not getting her endowment was really because she didn’t understand it and thought she had to do stuff before that you don’t have to do. So we just had an awesome lesson about the temple and now we are going to help her prepare to receive her endowments. I just love how the Lord works and how we went there not really knowing she needed that but then God just provided a way for us to help her and for her to start preparing to go to the temple! It seriously felt so fulfilling and wonderful!

The mission has been the most amazing experiences of my life. It truly has changed me (at least I think and hope so). But I know for sure that my testimony has grown and that my understanding of the gospel has deepened. I love our Savior Jesus Christ and love more than anything serving Him and being a representative of Him. I am grateful that that never stops. Ever. Maybe without the name tag but I will never stop testifying of His love and His truth. I may not be perfect and I know I have a lot to learn and grow but I will forever strive to serve Him with all my heart, might, mind and strength. And don’t worry. I will not lessen my enthusiasm or devotion to serve Him right to the end. I know that God lives. I know that He loves us. I know that Joseph Smith saw God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ. I know that through Joseph Smith the gospel of Jesus Christ has been restored in its fullness and glory. I know that there is a Prophet today who leads and guides the church. I know that striving our best to live the Gospel of Jesus Christ is the only way to find true, lasting happiness and peace in this world and in our next phase of life. I have studied and prayed for myself and I have felt of the peace and truth for myself. I’ve shared this before but I would love to share it again, one more time. This is my favourite scripture because I feel that it speaks exactly how I feel and will strive for 🙂

“And I saw that I must soon go down to my grave, having been wrought upon by the power of God that I must preach and prophesy unto this people, and declare the word according to the truth which is in Christ. And I have declared it in all my days, and have rejoiced in it above that of the world. And I soon go to the place of my rest, which is with my Redeemer; for I know that in him I shall rest. And I rejoice in the day when my mortal shall put on immortality, and shall stand before him; then shall I see his face with pleasure, and he will say unto me; Come unto me, ye blessed, there is a place prepared for you in the mansions of my Father. Amen.” — Enos 1:26-27

I love you all. Thank you. Seriously, you mean the world to me. Have an amazing week! Keep being examples and reaching out to the one 🙂 They need you and we need them.

Love,
Hermana Godfrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

