October 20 – babysteps

20 Oct

It was wonderful to hear from you guys today! Thanks for your inspiring words. They were exactly what I needed to hear today 🙂

What a wonderful week! Dad you would be so proud of me! So you know how growing up I used to make every excuse I could think of to get out of yard work? Well, this time I used every excuse I could think of to let us do yard work. And it was awesome! I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned them before but a less active couple, the H’s, were a miracle for us this week. They let us in their home the week before so this week we went back, raked up leaves, pulled out weeds, cut the grass (and we still have a long way to go for our transformation project- but it’s a great reason to keep coming back!) and then had a wonderful meal and lesson with them. Seriously, I loved being out in the yard and working! It was so much fun! Also, Sister Alvarez is pretty fun/funny to hang out with so that helped too haha. But we loved it. During dinner we were really able to get to know them, hear their stories, how they came to find the church and what things are stopping them from coming. And then we had a simple but powerful lesson on the atonement of Jesus Christ. They really felt the spirit. They opened up and they want to come back. They are also pretty funny and it’s amazing to see the light of the gospel enter and change their lives. That’s what I love.

Another miracle this week was with Sister G and J. They are pretty wonderful. They too haven’t been to church in a while (more particularly J). Sister G is the mother and J is living with her until he moves into his place. We feel they are close to coming back too. So we went there and at the beginning I felt like I was there but not completely there (ya know what I mean) but I was trying. So then I just decided, well, I’ve got to move! So I got up and just moved closer to them, so I could be in front of them and really be there with them and for them. And it worked. It was really neat, then Sister Alvarez came closer too (it was weird the way things are positioned in the home). They shared their experiences and as we listened, Sister G told us about her experience in the temple. And we were able to ask when was the last time she has been there? And would she like to go back and feel that peace again? And it turns out she has a whole list of names of her ancestors ready on paper that just need to be entered into the computer! How amazing is that?! And J, well, he too, we were able to direct the conversation and find out about how he feels God’s love in his life. He even said one of the prayers for us. When we invited them to church Sister G said yes! J said maybe haha. And to be honest, he was sincere about that maybe. But we prayed this week that they both would come to church. Some of the people we thought would come to church didn’t but some of them did! It was awesome. We had just finished our correlation with our ward mission leader and coming around the corner. I looked and there was J sitting in one of the chairs! It was such a great miracle 🙂

Oh and just one more because I loved hearing this. H. She is just progressing as she continues to find out more about the church and feels the Holy Ghost. This past week she had us over with her and her boyfriend and her Grandma. Her family is religious and her Grandma goes to church every sunday! Her Grandma is so nice and sweet. She asked us a bunch of questions about missionaries and what we believe and we would answer and then H would usually clarify and answer a lot better than we did haha. H’s awesome! Well, her Grandma apparently liked us a lot and this weekend was telling H how we were not what she was expecting at all and that she really enjoyed us and felt good. She also had some questions and asked H. H told us how she would answer and she was like, “It was really neat because as I was explaining it to her it felt like I would know what to say and that I was learning too as I said it.” Haha. Like, how amazing is that!? She also said that it felt really good to share it.

Can I just tell you how amazing it is to share the gospel?! It’s been so incredible this week to learn more about how the Saviour would teach and try to implement that into my life as a disciple of Jesus Christ. I love these people. So much. I love being about to listen to them, ask them inspired questions and then testify of Jesus Christ. Yesterday we had a pass off lesson to the spanish elders. Man, sometimes I get fustrated with my spanish because I’m not fluent (I’ve got some high expectations for myself haha. Some things take longer than what you wish but with God all things are possible) and sometimes I don’t understand or can’t express what I desire too. But then at one point during the lesson I just felt this feeling that maybe my spanish isn’t perfect. But that at the same time it is- because I can testify of Jesus Christ. Maybe this is chessy or maybe I’m becoing more latina haha but I want to bear my simple testimony in spanish.

Yo se que Jesucristo vive. Yo se que Jesucristo es el Redentor y el Salvador del mundo. Yo se que Dios es nuestro amaroso Padre Celestial quien nos conoce y nos ama- mas que podemos comprender. Yo se que la iglesia de Jesucristo de los Santo de los Ultimas Dias es la misma iglesia que Jesucrsito establecio cuando fue en la tierra. Yo se que Jose Smith restaurada la iglesia y que en esta epoca tenemos el sacerdocio otra vez en la tierra. Que grandioso es esta evangelio. Estoy muy agradacida por la oportunidad compartir la verda con las otras personas y invitar los demas venir mas cera a Jesucristo. Esta es mi obra y que grandioso es mi llamamiento!

Los quiero mucho,

Hermana Godfrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

