June 16 – Come Unto Me

17 Jun

Wow. What a week. You know that feeling when you learn so much you are just kinda mind blown. Like literally being wind blown over and you just have that dazed look haha. That’s kinda how I feel. Most of it has all been spiritual nourishment. We had zone conference which was awesome and sooooo spiritually powerful. At the end when we had testimony meetings President Patrick didn’t time constrain it and just let everyone who wanted to go. The spirit was so powerful, so very tangible, it was awe inspiring. I felt so much love for every single one of those missionaries, that they were truly beloved spirit children of our Heavenly Father. And so am I. What a wonderful thing.

This week! Let me tell you about our two investigators. Right now we really only have two investigators,Hermano J and Hermano E. They are so legit!!!! I just love them 🙂 Even though we only have two right now they are so sincere and so strong in their desire to come closer to Christ. The other day in our lesson with Hermano J he just shared his testimony about how he feels when he reads the Book of Mormon and how he feels this love and warmth and happiness. We told him that was the spirit and he was just so happy. After the lesson he wanted to see the baptismal font haha. We didn’t have the key but he was like “did you find someone?” So we went a bit more diligently looking for someone who might have the key. He liked it 🙂 Then on Sunday he came and one of the first things he said to me was “they called me into work today but I told them I couldn’t because I had promised I would be at church.” Whooooa. Haha so cool. Hermano J is the type of person who is just happy, sincerely and all the way through. I’m pretty sure if you stuck him in a snow storm he would still have his smile on his face. He just makes you happy to be around. It’s an honor Heavenly Father has put him in our path to teach him the restored gospel.

Hermano E is from Columbia and been here for about two months. He is so kind and gentle and patient. We had a lesson with him yesterday at a park because it was beautiful outside. He told us that back in Columbia even though he had his family and friends and a good job he just felt something missing. He realized that it isn’t a rich house, fancy car or even a good job that brings you happiness but that you need to feed your spiritual self too. Wow. I learn so much from these people. Yesterday on our way home the sun was shining and it was beautiful. A beautiful day in a beautiful world with beautiful people and beautiful miracles. I just couldn’t help but smile, a big smile. I was so happy. So happy. The joy that people tell you about how on their mission they talk about having a perfect sense of joy when they lose themselves in the work of The Lord. I started singing called to serve in Spanish. And couldn’t help but think “how great is your calling”. I’ve realized a lot lately that I’m not here for myself. Not at all. Sometimes I get caught up in things. But I’m not here for myself at all. I love these people. Truly. That love may not be perfect but I am trying and striving to have my will more aligned with the will of The Lords. And over it all, I love my Saviour Redeemer and King. I love my God. I love the feeling of the spirit that softly whispers to my soul that these things are true. I love scriptures and the moment when something finally clicks, the lightbulb comes on and you realize that God is there, truly and in every way. I know that he lives. I know that Jesus Christ is the son of God and that through him we might obtain eternal life. And how great shall be that day. “And I saw that I must soon go down to my grave, having been wrought upon by the power of God unto this people, and declare the word according to the truth which is in Christ and I have declared it in all my days, and have rejoiced in it above that of the world. And I soon go down to the place of my Redeemer; for I know that in him I shall rest. And I rejoice in the day when my mortal shall put on immortality, and shall stand before him; then shall I see his face with pleasure, and he will say unto me: Come unto me, ye blessed, there is a place prepared for you in the mansions of my Father. Amen”

I know that God lives. I know that the gospel of Jesus Christ is true. I know that the gospel in its fulness has been restored upon the earth and that we have the priesthood on the earth today and that we are lead and guided by a prophet of God! President Thomas S Monson. I love you all so much. Thank you. I love and admire your examples and testimonies. Keep shining, keep going. Hang on to the iron rod and trust in God in all things. He loves you and so do I. I hope you have an amazing week filled with awesome things and opportunities! Go get em 😀

Con Amor,
Hermana Godfrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

