June 9 – For when I am weak, then I am strong

10 Jun

Itès summer! Well, getting close. Itès so crazy how one week you are freezing and within one week it changes and now you are getting too hot. I am quite enjoying the warmer weather, humidity included haha.

So, remember that story I told you about B2É How it was a miracle of the Lord meeting him and especially how prepared he was to receive the restored gospelÉ Well, I need to give you an update! So Sister Gutierrez and her companion, Sister Canady, are doing a great job teaching him… and he wants to be baptized! I believe itès for the 24th of the month! He just moved areas in Montreal (hence wards) and are working with the Sisters of that ward. Itès cool because now he is at the same chapel where Zarahemla meets too. Its just pretty exciting to see him have that desire to be baptized. Heavenly Father truly is mindful and loves his children. And its wonderful to see those we work with come closer to Christ and sincerely have that desire to follow him. 🙂

I canèt remember if I told you about J. I think I did. He is one of our investigators. And he too is super awesome and ready for the gospel! We had a lesson set up with him at one of the chapels. But he never showed up. We were a bit sad about that but knew it wasnèt like J. So we tried calling but didnt get through to him. Well Sunday came and we didnt expect him to come because we didnt tell him (he has come before). And then we turn around and there was J!!! We were so happy to see him! We had a lesson with him that morning and hes been reading the Book of Mormon. One of his questions was like, (sorry this keyboard is in french and i dont know how to switch it haha. hope you understand all these È![the editor decided not to correct this letter so that people could see what Sister Godfrey is talking about]) ÈÈSo if I understand this right, Jose Smith was 14 years old when he saw GodÉÈÈ We were like ÈYepÈ. His response, ÈWhooaa.È He was so amazed and just seemed to see how merciful and loving our Heavenly Father is.

Also on the days last week (canèt remember which one) we were at the Bishops house for supper and to see what his vision of the ward was and how we can help him and see the vision of hastening the work of salvation. It was our last appointment that day. It was so hard to get out of there so we could leave and catch the bus to get home on time. We were trying all we could and be respectful as well. Anyways, we left. It was about 9:10 and we had to get home at 9:30 haha. So… like we usually do when we are running late… we started running to the bus. Well, we saw it stop and we werenèt there yet. We started sprinting but the light changed and it left. We were like, ÈOh no!È So Sister Ruiz and I looked at each other and nodded. We started running… all the way home haha. I donèt think it would have been that bad if we hadnt been stuffed from the meal we ate. I had a huge cramp. We walked for a minute and then I said a prayer in my heart. At the moment it felt like the hardest part of the day haha. I told Heavenly Father, ÈAlright, this is in your hands. I tried all I could. Ièm just going to run and put one foot in front of the other. Please help us to get home on time.È To be honest, we didnt know if it was humanly possible to make it home on time. We were about 15 minutes by bus away. But we just ran. And ran. Hahaha. You donèt know how happy I was to see the park by where we lived. We made it to our doors and you wonèt believe it, it was 9:30! Milagro!!!!! It was awesome! So tired and sweaty but so grateful! Heavenly Father helped us so much. It was kinda cool to see the hand of the Lord in our lives with every aspect. Adn what a complete analogy of the atonement. Something else I learned was that in the middle of challenges, sometimes it feels like the end of the world and all we can see is the challenge and trial we are going through- we lose our eternal perspective. I remember like half an hour after making it home thinking, ÈThat wasnèt that bad. Ièm just fine.È I wish I had more of that eternal perspective everyday and that is someting I want to work on.

I am so grateful for our Heavenly Father. He loves us so much. I know that that is true and I know that this work, the work of salvation, is the greatest thing in the world. Eternal life is the greatest gift of our Heavenly Father. I love the gospel and know that it is true and brings us lasting and complete happiness. I love you guys all so much. Thank you for everything. I hope you have a great week! Go do something awesome! (like share the gospel haha) Love you!

Con amor,
Hermana Godfrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

