May 26 -Sweating palms and faith in God

26 May

Alright, this is again on the I-pad, so here we go…. 🙂

Generation photo!  I love family history! Sister Gutierrez, Sister Munive, Moi, Sister Valera, and Sister Cutler (who trained her)

Generation photo! I love family history! Sister Gutierrez, Sister Munive, Moi, Sister Valera, and Sister Cutler (who trained her)

We had some pretty cool stuff happen so I hope you are ready for the stories! I’m not sure if I told you about that one guy we met in the bus and how excited I was that he spoke Spanish and wanted to learn more about the church. Well, we met him and it was awesome! Our first lesson with him was really good. My Spanish, not so good, but I was still able to get my points and testimony across. It was awesome. We told him that we are all brothers and sisters and we asked if we could refer to him as Hermano Jose. It was super funny because I would be like, Hermano Jose, and he would be like, Si Hermana Godfrey. We invited him to prepare for baptism for the second Sunday in June and he said he would think about it and then replied, Pro que no? Which mean, why not? Haha he is cool. And then he came to church on Sunday! And he really liked it 😀 yay!

Our district (and all of our awesome missionaries in Zarahemla)  at the temple!

Our district (and all of our awesome missionaries in Zarahemla) at the temple!

We also had the really awesome opportunity to go to the temple with two families that haven’t gone for a long time to do baptisms. That was pretty neat. That’s one of my favourite things about serving a mission is being able to be a part of it and see these people come closer to God and actually making those steps. It’s simply beautiful 🙂

2014-05-26 Just how we do companionship bonding...meet Hermana Ruiz haha!

2014-05-26 Just how we do companionship bonding…meet Hermana Ruiz haha!

Hmmm, que mas? Well, I have an awesome companion. I almost died last night because we were eating pancakes and laughing too hard. And Spanish is coming, mas o menos. But we have set some goals personally and as a companionship. To answer some of your questions, we have three teams of missionaries in the Zarahemla ward, two sets of elders and us. I play the piano for everything and I will be doing it regularly. Hahah I don’t think my hands have sweat more on my mission than yesterday. I love playing the piano but am not good at sight reading and I’m not a fan of messing up continually. But as it breaks my pride it builds my character, or maybe my confidence, haha just kidding. Nah, it’s building me up 🙂 and then I had to bare my testimony in sacrament meeting. Hey but one member said thanks 🙂 and I even volunteered to read a scripture in relief society. I’m pretty sure the teacher was thinking, ” anyone else? No one is going to understand her.” Hahah. Oh how I love spanish. And that is with all sincerity. It’s great. And it’s all coming, one step at a time. I love what President Monson said, “I don’t know how to get anything done other than getting on my knees and praying to God, and then getting on my feet and getting to work”. How true that is. With God and hard work on our part, all things are possible. I love the gospel and I know that it is true. Thank you for all you do. I sure love you and admire your examples of courage and faith. Keep going and keep sharing the light of Jesus Christ. Have an awesome week! And let me in on the missionary stories por favor! 😀

Con mucho Amor,

Hermana Godfrey 🙂

Our classy (actually kinda lame haha) thank you note...We're working on our creative skills!

Our classy (actually kinda lame haha) thank you note…We’re working on our creative skills!

Leave a Reply

