April 7 – The worth of [you] is great in the sight of God!

7 Apr
Sister Godfrey and Sister Gutierrez

Sister Godfrey and Sister Gutierrez

Wasn’t conference awesome?!?! I just loved it and felt so inspired! I think some of my favourite parts though were when we all stood to sing the songs and having C, P and Sister Q, (some of our investigators) stand next to us and sing right along with everyone. It felt like we were all apart of something. It made me realize that whatever their pace is in learning and accepting the gospel that it didn’t matter because Heavenly Father is our father and truly knows each one of us. The rest will all come with love and the spirit and they too will feel of these truths we know to be true 🙂

Some cool things that happened this week. We went yesterday to teach E, (the C family-she’s the 9 year old). She hasn’t been very excited and even sometimes not too involved in the lessons. We try to make it fun but she just doesn’t want it. She’s like a 15 year-old, seriously. Yesterday we had one of the young women in the ward with us (she is super great!) and were teaching about the Gospel of Jesus Christ. We started and it was alright. But we could see that E just wasn’t into it (she also just woke up from a nap haha). I started thinking, “What can we do? We have to do something different. This isn’t working.” So I was like, “Alright! We are going to have an object lesson! Do you have some water and food colouring?” They went to look and didn’t, so I asked if they had pepper and they didn’t haha… so (it could of been a blessing because I didn’t even know if it was going to work). So I was like “Alright, how good is your imagination?” haha. As we really just started taking these things and really speaking to her and in a way that she could really feel and understand it she started participating and thinking about it. Near the end of the lesson we asked her what she could do to prepare for her baptism. She said that she didn’t know. But her Mom was like, “How about praying by yourself?” E thought about it and was like “Okay, although I don’t see how that is going to help me.” It was a great teaching moment. The young woman, A, who we brought with us starting teaching her about prayer and how it helped her and how it could help E. We bore our testimonies and she accepted the challenge to pray everyday this week. I didn’t even notice, but by the end, her Mom was crying. That was a really special lesson because we really were able to touch E and E wanted to do it and come closer to our Saviour. The Spirit was definitely there and guided Sister Gutierrez and I. And E gave a great closing prayer! We are excited for her. She’s so young and she just wants to grow up. But I can see how beautiful and special she is to our Heavenly Father. She is Heavenly Father’s little girl. That’s amazing to me 🙂

I think that’s really something that has touched me lately. I was reading this morning, “Remember the worth of souls is great in the sight of God… And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father! And now, if your joy will be great with one soul that you have brought unto me into the kingdom of my Father, how great will be your joy if you should bring many souls unto me!” -Doctrine and Covenants 18:10. 15-16

I love that because it says that “…how great shall be your joy with him…”. That’s so true! Think of all those you love- your family, friends, even the friends we haven’t yet met or made, don’t we want them to be with us in the Celestial Kingdom? That’s home, that’s where we want to be and how much joy we will have with all those we love with us. That’s what motivates me to share the gospel with everyone (including my friends back home). I love my God and “go… to [my] friends, and tell them how great things the Lord hath done for [me], and hath had compassion on [me].” (Mark 5:19- but seriously, favourite story of Jesus so far- Mark 5: 1-20. Sooo good!).

This is amazing. I just love being here on a mission. Thank you so much for all of your examples! I am so proud of the things that each of you do and accomplish. And I love your insights and stories about the gospel and being a missionary. Keep it up! Keep sharing the things that make you happy and know to be true. I love you all and appreciate all that you do for me! You are amazing 😀 Have a wonderful week!

Love,
Sister Godfrey 🙂

Leave a Reply

