February 3 – The joy of service!

3 Feb
Hello family! How are you guys doing? It’s been a good week! We did a lot of service this week! Which was a lot of fun. One lady in our church has been super sick for a while. One day she called us and said she had no food and was wondering if we could go get her some groceries. We said yes! She gave us the stuff and off we went one night. The only thing is that transportation is everything and can take so long to get any where. We had about 2 hours before we had to be home. We didn’t know how it was going to work. But we didn’t have another time. So we prayed and off we went. And guess what!?!? One of our less actives that we have been working with, J, was able to come to our rescue! She picked us up and took us! It was such a miracle. We had fun getting all the stuff. I’ve never seen/known anyone to eat so many organic and healthy things in my life! And people eat a lot of sardines here… Thankfully, I haven’t had to have one yet (fingers crossed)!

Good ol' Montreal for ya! We knew it was for the snow removal but not exactly sure for what... until they started coming towards us when we were taking the pictures (we seriously almost got run over ha). But now we know they are for the sidewalks! How neat is that?!

Good ol’ Montreal for ya! We knew it was for the snow removal but not exactly sure for what… until they started coming towards us when we were taking the pictures (we seriously almost got run over ha). But now we know they are for the sidewalks! How neat is that?!

 
We also taught english class this past week! It was so much fun!!! Seriously I loved it! We didn’t have a clue how to teach it but one guy usually comes and was able to help us out. It’s so cool because you end up having the United Nations in there! I love it! We had 7 there and all from different places around the world (Iran, Senegal, Cameroon, France, El Salvador, Tunisia, and other wonderful places that I can no longer remember- but its just amazing! Really, I would have to say that is most definitely my favourite thing about Montreal! So cool!)  We ended up playing a game and we all had a lot of fun! And then at the end they wanted me to teach them some Canadian terms (haha we spent about at least 5 min explaining the diffference of “washroom”, “restroom” and “bathroom”… sorry I don’t know why I’m telling you this… hope ya like it!). Anyways, I hope that we get the chance to help teach more often!
On our way - We had a dinner over at one of our awesome member family's home. I haven't gotten lost for so long (after being in an area for 8 months, I feel like I know it like the back of my hand ya know) so it was super fun, but seriously!

On our way – We had a dinner over at one of our awesome member family’s home. I haven’t gotten lost for so long (after being in an area for 8 months, I feel like I know it like the back of my hand ya know) so it was super fun, but seriously!

 
Okay, also we had a cool experience with J! To be honest, we really didn’t know what to do to help her progress in the gospel. She loves having us over! And is willing to bend over backwards to help us out whenever she can (she’s called us a couple nights and been like “Where are you at? Do you need a ride anywhere?”! Sooooooo kind!), and she makes awesome Lebanese food! But there were some things where we didn’t know what to do because we felt like we tried so many things. And then all of a sudden, some of her circumstances changed, and she just told us that she couldn’t do “this one” alone. There has been such a change in her! And after the night we were over for a FHE with her and her son she texted us and was like “Hey! What should I read in the Book of Mormon?”. We told her to start from the beginning. She called us the next night and wanted to read some together over the phone. We started right from the beginning and she was like “Whoa. This is so important.” It was soooo cool! I love her! Haha and her son J is super fun too! They gave us a ride home and I guess Sister G forgot to say good-bye to J. They started pulling away and we went in and then a second later J pulled back up and was like “Hey Sisters! J keeps saying that Sister G didn’t say goodbye to him!” It was really funny and cute!
A FHE we did with J and her son J. Can you guess what it is??! Armour of God!!! And we had to be super creative :)

A FHE we did with J and her son J. Can you guess what it is??! Armour of God!!! And we had to be super creative 🙂

 
Things are going good! I am so happy to be able to help people. It seriously makes everything so much better and you feel so much happier. I love it and have a strong testimony of service being able to make all the differences! I invite and challenge you this week that if you catch yourself feeling a little bit down, to think of something that you can do for someone else and then do it! I promise you you will feel a difference and feel the joy that comes from serving! “And behold, I tell you these things that ye may learn wisdom; that ye may learn that when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God.”– Mosiah 2:17.
 
Well, we are off! Today is a pretty special day and we are super exicted! IT’S M’S BIRTHDAY!!!!  She is awesome and we can’t wait to spend a little bit of time with her on her special day! I wish I could tell you more stories about this week! There are so many. But I do have to quickly say that we were off to go see a member and M drove us. She was just going to drop us off but we invited her and when she found out that she knew the person she said yes! We went in and it was so inspired that we go there. That person needed us! We were there in the time that she needed us and I have to say that without M we wouldn’t have been able to help her as much as we could of. It was great! Members are so important!
 
Love you all and happy to hear from you! Hope you have a wonderful week. I LOVE YOU!!!! Keep up being amazing and let me know about the miracles that happen this week! Missionary stories??? Yes please!
 
Love you!
 
Love,
Sister Godfrey 🙂
 
Leave a Reply

