December 23 – !Feliz Navidad! Joyeux Noel! Merry Christmas!

25 Dec
DO NOT OPEN THIS UNTIL DECEMBER 24TH- SERIOUSLY.  AS USUAL, MY CHRISTMAS PRESENT THAT I WAS MAKING ISN’T FINISHED IN TIME (haha… sound familar?) SO THIS IS THE LEAST I CAN DO. PLEASE DON’T READ UNTIL CHRISTMAS EVE- PREFERABLY WHEN YOU HAVE THE USUAL CHRISTMAS TRADITIONS. I LOVE YOU THOUGH!!! AND QUITE A LOT TOO! And don’t worry, I’m doing just fine. Just had to add my thoughts on Christmas. And stories of the season. I love you!
 
MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! What an amazing week! We had a record number of lessons for us (including all 6 months I have been here)!!! And when we realized that we were surprised because it didn’t even feel like it. It was pretty awesome! We had a pretty neat experience with a part-member/less-active family that we are working with. They are awesome (I’ve talked about them before), the C’s. They have been wanting to work on reading the scriptures together as a family. Together they committed to read the Book of Mormon as a family about 2 weeks ago. We went the beginning of last week, and they hadn’t done it (such a disappointing feeling- we can feel and know how much it will bless their lives as a family and individually!). But we had brought with us a Book of Mormon in Hindi, the native language of the father. He was pretty excited! And was reading us scriptures from it and translating them back into english for us. That was fun! So they committed to read the Book of Mormon again as a family this week. We have been praying for them like crazy! And guess what?! THEY DID IT! We were so happy and grateful! Heavenly Father is pretty wonderful and I know He listens and answers our prayers according to our faith and His will.
 
Yesterday was kinda fun too. This past weekend we had a freezing rain storm. It actually isn’t too bad in it. It kinda feels like you are walking around with little crystals falling from the sky on you. It’s pretty fun. And I don’t think I’ve ever experienced something quite like that before. Anyways… we are getting more and more snow. And walking back from church we pass a lot of people shoveling snow or their cars out. We ask them if they need help… but they always say no.. But we were on the other side of the street and I look over and see this woman shoveling her walkway. I don’t really know what I thought but I just kinda steered myself towards her.  She seemed like someone who would allow us to help. So we went over and offered and she said yes! She was very grateful (this might sound wimpy, but shoveling snow is a lot of work ha). As we were talking with her and she found out where our church was she was like, “Really!? I’ve been wanting to go to that church! Someone invited me there once and I’ve been wanting to go but I didn’t know when!”. Her name is S. She is from Jamaica and probably in her 40s. She was really nice but didn’t have any time right then. But we asked if we could come another time and she said yes! We are going to see her later this evening after P-Day.
 
Brother J is on fire right now! He is just so ready for baptism! He wanted to fast to gain extra strength to overcome his coffee addiction. He has been doing so good. It was his first time fasting and that was really hard for him. But I know how proud the Lord must be of him! Brother J is so funny too. He’s kinda like a Grandpa (Don’t worry Grandpa Wardrop and Grandpa Godfrey, no one can replace you- you are stuck with me!). He called us the morning before we were going to break our fast and said that everything was good and that he would be waiting for our call but he was going to be standing next to a Subway restaurant! Haha. It was funny.
 
We are going to spend Christmas seeing a lot of less active or investigators that don’t have any one or plans for Christmas. I am so happy to be spending Christmas with them! They are like our family and I just love them so much.
 
Okay, one more thing which was pretty cool (okay, two things). First, Sister M and I have a goal this week to ask EVERYONE we meet with for people they know who would benefit from our message. We met with C this morning and we forgot to ask her! So I decided to text her and ask if she knew of anyone who would benefit from a message about Christmas or is in need of some service. We just got a text back! And she has a friend! Yep, awesome right! Love it!
 
And the last thing (this is a long one- Merry Christmas!) Yesterday we had our missionary Christmas get together thing with two zones. It was a lot of fun! We divided into two groups and went off and caroled to people. It was pretty cool. There were 22 missionaries out in the streets of Montreal. We walked around singing Christmas hymns- into the metros for a bit and off to some homes and to people on the streets. This one family we went to opened the doors and they took out their cell phones and stuff and started videoing (probably went viral). Then we went back to the chapel and watched a few videos from the life of Christ and talked about it. And of course, refreshments! It was a really nice evening.
 
I just can’t express how grateful I am to be a missionary. I love it. And Christmas time is such a beautiful time to be able to take the message of Jesus Christ to the lives of others. There is a special spirit and I love to feel it. But it’s even more fulfilling to bring that to others and see it change their lives and open up their hearts.
 
“For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder; and his name shall be called, Wonderful, Counselor, The Mighty God, The Everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.” 2 Nephi 19:6
 
I know that Christ lives. I know that he is the Saviour of the world, that he gave his life for each one of us. I know that through him I can be forgiven, that I never have to feel alone or lost because he is always right there, simply waiting for us to come to him. I feel of the joy and peace that comes through knowing that he lives and loves us. It’s kinda amazing to look at the life of the Saviour; to see how perfect and precious his life was and is. And the best and most awe-inspiring thing is that he did it all for us, because he loves each one of us.
 
I hope that each of us take a moment to just ponder in silence what the Saviour has done for you. Consider the blessings that Christ has brought into your life. And I invite you to think of something that you can give to the Saviour this year to come closer to him or to help another feel of his love.
 
I love you each so much. Thank you for everything. Truly, I can not comprehend how blessed I am. I appreciate each of you! I love you and hope you have the very best Christmas EVER!
 
Love,
Sister Godfrey   
Leave a Reply

