November 18 – “Oh that I were an angel…”

19 Nov

My dearest most AMAZING family,

 
I love ya. A lot. Hope you know it!
 
I have so much to tell you about it’s ridiculous ha. I’m dying to tell you about this Saturday. It was the most beautiful day. I have never felt so blessed and loved in my life.
 
It started with having the most beautiful sunshine filled day! It was like at least 14C! I didn’t even wear a jacket and was loving it! Heavenly Father is wonderful. We left for the temple in the morning with M and J. We met Sister V, Sister G (her companion) and Sister R. What a spiritual experience!
 
The Spirit was so strong. You could feel it as if we were enveloped with this joy and peace. As M was baptized as proxy for her daughter (she died at 21 from cancer) and her Grandmother I felt the Spirit. It was the first time I truly had the thought that I had promised her I would come and help her- that I would bring her closer to God and the gospel. She also had a young man be baptized in behalf of her father and grandfather. She whispered over to me as we watched and said “I am so happy!”. Me too! I’m not really sure how to express the experience of it but it was beautiful and wonderful. The whole day I just felt so happy- my joy was full.
M and I.  Just look at how happy she is!

M and I. Just look at how happy she is!

Temple with M - left to right is J,  me, Sister M, M, Sister V, and Sister G (her companion)

Temple with M – left to right is J, me, Sister M, M, Sister V, and Sister G (her companion)

 
And yes, we also went out to celebrate (despite my objections- I wanted the whole day to be all about M, but M nor anyone else would allow that… so I was out voted..) my birthday. I am so spoiled haha. It was super fun and I was so happy to spend it with those that I consider family. It was one of my most favourite birthdays- after all, how many birthdays do you get to go to the temple with someone you love for their first time to do baptisms for their daughter and family members? Yeah, kinda awesome.
Thanks for the sparklers mom and dad!  They came in handy!  M and Sister de la G, a member, bought me Rockaberry (the best, seriously, pie and cheesecake place) chocolate cheesecake!  Kind of a spoiled misssionary...

Thanks for the sparklers mom and dad! They came in handy! M and Sister de la G, a member, bought me Rockaberry (the best, seriously, pie and cheesecake place) chocolate cheesecake! Kind of a spoiled misssionary…

All of us at the restaurant after we ate El Salvadorian food.

All of us at the restaurant after we ate El Salvadorian food.

 
We also had a good lesson with our investigator C (who is the sweetest person ever- I just love her!). We started teaching at U de M- the spirit was definitely there… and they decided to shut down in the middle of our lesson (but that didn’t stop us)… so we went to McDonald’s and continued to have a great lesson. She keeps opening up a lot. I can’t wait to tell her more!
 
At the end of the day while walking home, I didn’t want to go home! At all! I just felt this urgent and almost desperate desire to share what I knew about God and his plan for us with everyone.
 
I echo the words of Alma as he expressed, “O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth.” (Alma 29:1-2)
 
I love being a missionary! And I love the Lord. I know that this gospel blesses our lives and our families. Keep doing the amazing missionary work you are doing! Who knows who we can touch! I love you all. Thank you so much for your letters and emails… and birthday wishes and EVERYTHING! You fill my life with so much happiness! I love you and pray for you.
 
HAVE AN AWESOME WEEK!
 
Love,
Sister Godfrey
 
...and that's some french for you!

…and that’s some french for you!

Leave a Reply

