October 14 – HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

14 Oct

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!! I hope you have a FANTASTIC thanksgiving with lots of family, food and of course thankfulness! We are going to go to M’s today for a thanksgiving meal (which btw, after our lesson about temples she was like “Great! When can I go?” haha very soon!). I am super happy to be spending it with her- she’s my family here!

 
Well guess what?!?! Transfers are tomorrow!!!! And…. well, Sister L got her transfer call to Guatemala City haha. She is finished (crazy eh!) and has been the best missionary ever! Seriously, I have learnt so much from her and am so grateful that I had the opportunity to be her companion. I’m going to miss her. But I know she is going to do wonders in Guatemala!
 
Okay, so here it is. I am going to be staying in Montreal (same area) and I will be receiving a new missionary!! Haha I am super excited! I really hope that I will be able to be the trainer that Heavenly Father wants me to be so that I can help her to become an awesome missionary. This should be a fun week.
After a day of rain, a rainbow (apparently a big deal in Montreal)

After a day of rain, a rainbow (apparently a big deal in Montreal)

 
So I think last email I told you about the whole less active focus we have as missionaries (after all, we have about 64 families/members in our focused area and only 17% are active). There’s lots of work to do! We were able to go to this one family yesterday who recently moved into the ward from England. They are awesome! They have two kids in the family, a son who’s 6 and a daughter who is 9. The wife is active and has such a strong testimony of the gospel- she’s like super mom. And the father is a convert but hasn’t been coming to church for a while. The daughter hasn’t been baptized because she is “waiting for her Dad to come back to church”. You can see how much the mom wants her family back in the church. We had a great lesson with them last night hearing about their conversion stories and the blessings they love about the gospel. And we asked them if we could come and teach them the missionary lessons together as a family. They said yes and we know this is going to be the start of something wonderful for their family.
So pretty along the river in LaSalle. It's not my area but was a day when I was on splits (from the car window).

So pretty along the river in LaSalle. It’s not my area but was a day when I was on splits (from the car window).

 
I hope you all have a great week. I love you so very much. Thank you for being such great examples to me. I don’t know where I’d be without you but I’m glad I don’t have to know. I know this gospel is true. I know that Heavenly Father loves us and knows us, he’s always there with his hands wide open, waiting for us to come to him. I love him and I’m so grateful to be able to share his love with others. Have a great week! You are amazing!
 
Love,
Sister Godfrey
Leave a Reply

