Time for a little bit of Spanish!

3 Sep

2013-09-03 My district (before transfers) and ward mission leaderMy district before transfers and the ward mission leader. They are awesome!

Get ready for it! Transfers….. I’m staying! Haha not too crazy but I am super excited to be staying here. We are in the middle of so much! And I love this ward and area. But it is a bittersweet thing…. Sister Varela is leaving me. She is off to the South of the Island to serve in a Spanish Ward! And my companion is going to be Sister Lucas. I don’t know her but I’ve heard great things! She is from Guatemala (bring on the Spanish!) and has been out for a while so it should be great to learn from her! I am excited! But will definitely miss Sister Varela- she’s just awesome!
2013-09-03 Sister Varela and ISister Varela and I. 2013-09-03 Sister Varela, Sister Wright and I in Old MontrealSister Varela, Sister Wright and I in Old Montreal.

We had splits this past Friday and wow! Miracles everywhere!!! We had a lesson with one of our investigators and then because we didn’t have enough time to go home and eat we skipped supper and went to a family who we taught a lesson to on the street once. We’ve been trying to meet with them again but they have a busy schedule and we’ve never been able to meet with them since. But we said a prayer that we would be able to teach them- and they were home! All three of them (They are an older family with a 30ish old son). It was such a cool lesson. There was just a sweet spirit and calmness. It was amazing- exactly what they needed.
 
Then we headed off to teach a less active member but we got there early so we decided to go knocking at this one apartment building. This one guy miraculously let us in and we chose the last floor and went straight to the first door. This lady opened the door and we talked for a couple of seconds and then I asked if she had about 5 to 10 minutes so we could share our exciting message with her. She let us in!
 2013-09-03 Tim Horton's cause we're just that cool! and we had to show the other sisters what it wasTim Horton’s cause we’re just that cool and we had to show the other sisters what it was.

After our lesson with her we went to our less active member and had a good lesson with her. Her friend was there last time and sat in on the lesson with us and so I asked her about him and if he would be interested. She said yes and gave us his number! The bus we take home wasn’t going to get us home in time so I called J and asked her if she could give us a ride home. She was more than willing (she’s awesome!) and her same friend was with her and picked us up! We had a great drive home and I asked him if he would be interested in coming to the next lesson we had with J. He asked when and said he worked. Then he was like “But ya know, I’ll just leave work for a bit and then go back. Yeah! That works!”.
 
It’s super exciting and we keep finding more people and members to work with! Missionary work is awesome! I know that Heavenly Father is working miracles in our lives and is ready to bless us… all we got to do is ask!
 
I love you all! Thank you so much for everything you do for me. You are such great examples and I love hearing all about your experiences. Have a FANTASTIC week!
 
Love,
Sister Godfrey
Leave a Reply

