August 19 – Cheesecake! (I’ll explain when I get home)

20 Aug
Hello!!! This has been a fun week! First of all, thank you so much for your letters they mean the world to me. It’s always good to hear from you!

 
Time just keeps flying by like crazy! I honestly don’t remember what happened in this past week- it’s all a blur and just seems so long ago to remember haha. But we did have an awesome zone conference last Tuesday. We were able to see and hear from our new Mission President, President Patrick (who was one of the stake president’s in the missionary broadcast thingy a while back). He is going to be great! It’s all about being exactly obedient and living the higher law. I like that a lot. It goes for everything. Instead of seeing if you can get by or make it you decide to never get close to the line of right or wrong. I’ve really been trying to do that ever since the beginning. It’s so true that with exact obedience comes miracles. The Lord will always bless us when we do what is right!
 
One thing that is really changing and I’m sure you’ve all seen for yourself is the shift of missionary work. It’s all about the members! How neat is that!? We are changing the shift to working and strengthening our members and then through and with them to teach their friends and then come and assist us more. We have also been doing a lot of less active work. It’s awesome! Every family, whether long time members or less actives- everyone, has something to further themselves and work towards. I don’t think that makes sense but oh well ha. I read something this week that was so cool with challenging members to do. And it was so easy! It simply suggests to say twice a week, “… that’s why I love my church!” How simple is that!? I love it. Try it!
 
Okay, a quick story. We went to visit this one less active woman. We started teaching about the story of the tree of life but it just wasn’t working. There was tension and she wasn’t very focused on our message. Then my companion felt an impression to say, “The real reason we are here is because the Bishop is worried about you and wants you to come back to church.” Things started changing. And it wasn’t easy to keep going because we didn’t want to offend her in any way. I was a bit scared but asked her directly, “What’s been holding you back from coming to church?”. She opened right up! From that we were able to reach her. It was really cool. The Spirit definitely was leading and guiding us.
 
It’s so amazing to be a part of God’s work. I realize more and more that it’s not me doing any of this work. It’s all God and the only effective teacher is the Spirit. I am simply a mouth piece and a servant of the Lord. I love it. I love being able to feel the power of God as long as I strive to live worthy of the Spirit. There are so many miracles and so many more to come! I know that this is the only true and living gospel and that with God we are magnified in our callings, whatever the Lord has in store for us. Though it’s not always easy to submit to His will, it’s worth it. I read in a talk a couple weeks ago, “We can only make ourselves a smudge, but God can make us a God”. That is where we want to be!
 
I love you all so much. Thank you for everything. Keep up the great work and keep smiling! Have an AMAZING week!


 

2013-08-05 Lebanese FoodLebanese food! (which btw, the food is super fun here. Last week we had Lebanese food, Vietnamese food, Guatemalan food and Dominican Republic food! And I got some recipes! – sorry the picture is blurry)

Leave a Reply

