July 2 – Bonne fête du Canada!!!

8 Jul

Bonjour!  Hola!  First, I’ve got to say I love you all.  Seriously, best family EVER!  And I’ve got some pretty awesome friends too.  Thanks for being so amazing.  I love ya!

This week has been adventurous in it’s own fun way.  Hmm…where to go?!  Well, the other week we had family home evening with this one family who are pretty awesome – and we did ‘Project Liahona’.  We got out a map of our area and then prayed with the family to find a street that we would go tracking on.  It was pretty fun.  And let me tell you – prayer works.  Yesterday we headed off there and we have been struggling this week on finding good potential investigators.  We went first to a park that was on that street and found this guy who was from France in Montreal for a few months with some family trying to find his way.  He was pretty cool.  We talked for about 10 minutes with him about his beliefs and views of God and religion.  It was pretty neat.  And then we walked down the street a little bit and ran into this single mother who was out on a walk.  We ended up talking with her for about 15 minutes.  At first she was pretty distracted even though she said she was interested.  And I was trying to figure out what she needed and how to reach her heart.  And then I felt impressed to talk to her about how the gospel and church has strengthened my family.  She immediately focused right into us – it was amazing.  It was exactly what she needed and wanted.  It was perfect.  I don’t know what people need exactly in their individual lives but the Holy Ghost does.  Then we decided to try this one apartment – not much success but then the last door on the last floor we found a young woman who was also interested.  It was so cool to see how that street was right where we needed to be!

I’ve got some pictures for this week. They were all taken earlier today because I took out my other memory card that was full and I forgot to bring it! Next week I’ll send some home. Today we met up with some other Sisters and went out to LaSalle. It was fun to see the river and be with other Sisters in our zone.

2013-07-02 with companion at la Salle2013-07-02 by St. Lawrence River at la Salle

We also got a new Mission President! They seem like an awesome family (they are bringing four of their children) and I am really excited to begin working with President Patrick (he was actually in the missionary broadcast last week – I think he was one of the stake presidents).

Oh, btw, HAPPY CANADA DAY EH!!!!!!  It was fun to be in Canada for it although today is our P-day.  But Sister Varela and I celebrated by buying some Smartie ice cream!2013-07-08 how we celebrated Canada Day - with my favourite dish(My favourite Canadian dish.)  SO GOOD.  I haven’t had that for awhile so that was delightful.

You know, I am so grateful to be out on a mission right now.  This is exactly right where I need to be.  Some days are tougher than others but it is so perfect.  I have really come to feel God’s love for me and for His children.  Heavenly Father truly is our Father in Heaven and loves us so much.  He’s always there.  Some ask how you can know if there truly is a God.  It’s true, you can’t tangibly hold proof, and I’ve never seen God – but I have felt His presence and in my heart felt so much peace and happiness that I know is from nothing other than God, otherwise, I wouldn’t be out here in Quebec doing what I’m doing.  But I know there is a God, that Jesus is the Christ and through Him we can be cleansed from our mistakes and guilt.  I know that The Book of Mormon is the word of God and that there is a real power in it and that comes from sincerely studying it.  The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is truly God’s church and that we have a living Prophet of God on the earth today.  This work is amazing.  I love being a missionary.  And most of all I love being able to share this joy with others.  There is nothing I’d rather be doing right now.  I love God.

I hope you are all doing wonderful.  I love you all so much.  You are such great examples to me.  Theresa and Matt – hang in there (haha I don’t know what kind of advice to give ha) but you’re going to have the BEST BABY IN THE WORLD (well, at least until me, sorry) and I AM SUPER SUPER EXCITED!!!!  Wahoo!  Go get em!  Nathan and Todd – don’t get married until I’m home thanks.  But you can have fun and go longboarding (and buy me a loaded for when I get back).  Mom – YOU ROCK!  But seriously, you really do.  I got your package – exactly what I needed (it made my day!!!).  Keep up your great work and example!  You are doing amazing.  Dad – how was your trip and iron man training going?!  I hope you are doing great!  And I meant every single thing that I sent you.  I LOVE YOU ALL!  Have a fantastic week and go do something awesome (like missionary work ha – but seriously).

Love,

Soeur Godfrey (everyone thinks that we are nuns haha – kinda weird).

Leave a Reply

