June 17 – Bienvenue au Quebec!

17 Jun

President and Sister Canon - my mission president and wife and me

Hola!  Bonjour!  Hi!  Soooooooooo guess what?!?!  I made it to my mission.  (Pictured with President and Sister Canon, my mission president and wife). Any guesses to where I am right now???  Haha this might be fun to wait to tell you until next week!  But I’m pretty sure Mom might kill me.  SO here we go (drum roll please)……I AM IN MONTREAL!!!!!  Yep.  Good ol Montreal.  Like Montreal, Montreal, Montreal – the real deal.  We live in the city and have a beautiful apartment.  To be honest, a lot of the time I look at the city and hear all the French and wonder to myself…?Am I really in Canada?? haha.  But yes, (or no as probably a real Quebecois would say) I’m in Quebec.  I’m in an English ward right now haha.  A bit dissappointed about not learning French (or putting my Spanish to use).  But that’s okay.  This is where Heavenly Father wants me to be and I am more than okay with that.  Although, don’t get me wrong EVERYONE speaks French.  We try to contact in English because that’s the people we will teach (otherwise we would have to pass them off to other missionaries) but they often only speak French (the other day we ended up in a completely French populated place and I didn’t know anything) or are limited in their English.  But most people are bilingual and know both, so that’s good.  I have been so confused as to what language I should be learning right now (my companion knows a bit of Spanish).  But I think we have decided to speak and try to learn French for right now.  I’m glad we are only trying to learn one otherwise it would be sooooo confusing.

Me and my Soeur Varela

My companion is awesome!  Her name is Sister Varela and is from Utah.  She is a great example to me and has already taught me a lot – and mostly in example which is wonderful.  I know that she will be a great help to me.  Alright….some stories!  I think it was the first day we got here.  We went to this one appointment which was very interesting haha but for the most part we were wondering if it had even been worth our time.  On the way back home we were contacting (where we approach others about what we believe) on the bus to this one lady.  The lady wasn’t very interested but after she left this one man behind her was like ?Excuse me.  Sorry I couldn’t help but listen.  I have been looking for something in my life….?  It was really cool and even a surprise!  We started talking to him and he told us he had been looking for something, religion, in his life and how he never felt something fully before.  We started talking with him and it was really cool!

Another thing that happened to me yesterday was that we were on the bus contacting people.  (We take the metro and bus everywhere and walk everywhere else).  A lot of the time people kind of stare at us, especially our name tags (which I don’t blame them).  But sometimes I feel a bit awkward.  Yesterday on the bus people were just looking at me and I felt awkward.  But then I thought about all the blessings that I have received because of this Gospel of Jesus Christ!  It has brought me so much joy and happiness – behind the explanation of words.  I know that Jesus Christ is the Redeemer of the world and that our Heavenly Father is so mindful of us and loves us so much.  I know that Heavenly Father wants to help us and communicate with us and that is through prayer.  I love The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and know that it is the true church of Jesus Christ.  And that is why I am here.  Because of the blessings I have received I want others to feel the same joy, happiness and strength it has brought into my life.  When I thought of that I was filled with joy.  I want to share this joy with everyone!  It is amazing!

Wow.  I keep talking a lot don’t I.  I love Montreal so far!  There are people from EVERYWHERE in the world – seriously EVERYWHERE.  It’s so cool.  And the streets look like Europe – they really do.  Our street where we live is beautiful – the green trees are all along the sidewalk.  There are the brick buildings, spiral staircases and front porches.  You would love it!  I am so excited to be serving here and cannot wait to tell you more about it.

my first Quebecois poutine!!!!!

(My first Quebecois poutine!)
Thank you so much for all your love and support.  I especially want to thank you for your example to me.  Seriously, you have all helped me become who I am today and get here.  I love you all so much!  Have an amazing week.

Love,

Sister Godfrey

Leave a Reply

