May 24, 2013 – TRIUMPH comes from putting a little more “UMPH” into our “TRY”

24 May

Hola mi familia!!! Como le va? Gracious por su palabras y amor! Muchas gusta! Haha, that’s probably wrong but I just love ya all! I love all your emails, letters, packages and most of all love. This week has been pretty awesome. I don’t even know where to start! Mom and Dad, thank you SO MUCH for those amazingly delicious cinnamon rolls (I can’t believe you sent them all the way from Canada! Just kidding- but they were seriously so yummy and completely an unexpected delight!)! I ate probably one or two, or maybe three (yeah, might gain a few pounds here). 2013-05-24 And I gave the rest to my district but they still weren't gone so one night the branch presidency came and visited us. I offered them some but they all said no. But I could tell one of them wanted one so I made him get one- and then the rest of the presidency was like "wait! he's having one! I want one too!" President Jolly said to tell you Mom that you are an angel. I couldn't agree more.

This week with investigators has been pretty good. We got another one. Her name is Alexa. She knows a lot about religion and everything and we haven’t had anyone like that so I’m glad we get that experience. Esmerelda is just pretty amazing. Like, she is still really closed but I think it’s just because she has had a hard life. All she needs is time, love and the truth- and that’s exactly what she is going to get! Oh! I forgot to mention that I am now kind of in a trio. Well, I at least will be this coming week. One of our Hermanas (Hermana Anderson) got her visa to Spain (she’s now at the MTC there where she will serve in the Barcelona mission)! We are excited for her but miss her too! So now Hermana Richardson will be in our trio but not until another Hermana (from an older district) leaves this coming Wednesday. But Hermana Richardson teaches with us in our lessons. Hopefully that wasn’t too confusing! Yesterday we had a lesson with Esmerelda. It was going alright. But it’s kinda hard to teach (at least right now- we’ll figure it out) in a trio. I felt like a lot of the time we were just preaching to her instead of teaching her. And I just wanted to ask her questions and stuff and time wasn’t very long. At the end she asked a question about the Book of Mormon but was like “I have to go now but you can just teach me that next time”. And (well truthfully I didn’t fully understand her haha. But that was a blessing in disguise) I was thinking “No. We can’t end without even teaching her anything.” And I felt the Spirit hadn’t even touched her heart. So I was just like right then even though we were about to pray I was like “Esmerelda,…” and just straight out bore my testimony that I knew the Book of Mormon was true and that through the Book of Mormon I received happiness, strength and joy in my life. I testified that I knew God was real, that he lives and loves me. And I told her that I knew God loved her and that He had a plan for her and wanted to her to be happy. I don’t remember what I said (especially since it was in Spanish ha) but the Spirit was SO strong. I felt it and almost started crying and she too almost started crying. It was really cool to see that in her. I reinvited her to read the Book of Mormon and she said yes. It’s amazing what the Spirit can do and how it enters our lives and teaches us- no matter what stage we are in life and in our testimonies. It’s probably the best feeling ever! I love it and I love this gospel!

I’ve also seen so many miracles especially with the language! My Spanish is improving so much! It’s awesome! I try to talk Spanish as much as I can. When I learn a new word or something I try to just throw out the english one and also try to use the spanish I know. Usually I end up saying wierd things like “I am preparing my toast!” But it works! Even one of my teachers told my last night that my Spanish was getting so much better! I’ve been working really hard and I know that as I do everything I can and work my hardest that through the enabling power of the Atonement (la Expiacion) Jesucristo does the rest! Seriously, there is absolutely NO possible way that my Spanish would be where it is without help from God. Call upon the power of God when you need help. He’s there- for everything. I think that’s something else I’ve been discovering. When we pray Heavenly Father wants to hear us, He wants to bless us and help us but we have to do our part first by working for it and asking for it. Hopefully that made some sort of sense. (Don’t be fooled though – my Spanish is still pretty rough. But considering where I’ve come from it’s pretty good!)

Anyways I better get going! It’s time for some more delicious (that was said with slight sarcasm) MTC food. And then off to the temple! I can’t wait to go to the temple! It’s AWESOME! I just love having the opportunity to go every week while I’m here. It is such a blessing. I hope you all are doing wonderful. Have an awesome week. Thanks for all your love, support and prayers. I love you and pray for you. Thanks for being amazing! Keep up your smiles and just love life! Afterall, we’ve got a lot to be grateful for. Here’s a nice quote from President Gordon B. Hinckley (from his wife’s funeral)- “It isn’t as bad as you sometimes think it is. It all works out. Don’t worry. I say that to myself every morning. It will all work. Put your trust in God, and move forward with FAITH, and CONFIDENCE in the future. The Lord will not forsake us. He will not forsake us. If we will put our trust in Him, if we will live worthy of His blessings, He will hear our prayers.” Yep, pretty awesome quote! How neat is that?!

LOVE YOU!

Love,

Hermana Godfrey

Leave a Reply

